Posted by: Dalal Jebril | April 20, 2009

If They Wonder Who I was – By Dalal Jebril

If They Wonder Who I Was

 

If they wonder who I was

Tell them to ask the lonely clouds

As they wander the world grieving

Weeping rain till evanescence

 

If they wonder who I was
Tell them to ask the lonely wind
As it wearily runs, suffocated
Chilling the dark alleys at night

 

If they wonder who I was
Tell them to ask the lonely seas
As the waves confront the combating rocks
And creep smoothly, watering the thirsty shores

If they wonder who I was
Tell them to ask the lonely moon
As it’s left abandoned in the sky, lighting
Like a candle in sinners hearts

If they wonder who I was
Tell them to visit not my lonely grave
As I’m not just a lying corpse
I’m the voice, reading those written words

Responses

  1. riveting imagination and powerful use of words…nice!!

  2. Thank you very much for stepping by.

    Glad you liked it 🙂

  3. hey..you know i have become a fan of this poem…whenever i am a little down i read this and it evokes seriously heavy emotions!!!
    just wanted to appreciate your work…cheers!!!

    • Wow errm I must say that is the sweetest comment I’ve ever received.

      Thank you for the flattering words!


Leave a Reply

Categories

